• 402-405-1278
  • jennifer@youraam.com

[layerslider id="1"]

2013 Drivers Training & Rodeo

Home / 2013 Drivers Training & Rodeo

NATP held the Annual Statewide Roadeo and Drivers Training at the Nebraska Safety Center in Kearney on September 17th and 18th. A total of 23 drivers from across the state competed in the Roadeo. 32 volunteers, made up of transit managers and staff, NDOR staff and others stepped in to judge the event. Jeff Baker of Seward County Transit and Cindy Sanders of Guide Rock Public Transit were co-chairs for the Roadeo.

Everyone who participated in the Roadeo, either as a judge or a contestant, was invited to an awards luncheon. All Roadeo contestants were announced and presented with a certificate and a Roadeo lapel pin. Drivers who had been accident free for the past 12 months were awarded a Safe Driver Award window sticker to place in their vehicle. Roadeo Committee members were asked to stand and be thanked for their hard work in putting together this event, including Jeff Baker, Scott Bartels, Wayne Masek, Cindy Sanders, Denise Smith, Corrina Duckworth and Neva Umstead. Judges were then announced and presented with a tire gauge which featured the NATP logo.

The Roadeo competition consists of a written test, pre-trip inspection and wheelchair securement segments, and a driving skills course. This year, a new mini-van category was added to go along with the van and small bus divisions already in place. There was also a Hawaiian theme this year; many participants went all out with grass skirts, leis, and Hawaiian shirts. The first place drivers from each division and their managers are eligible to attend and compete in the CTAA National Roadeo in St. Paul, Minnesota, in June of 2014.

First place winners of all three divisions won $250 and an engraved clock. The 2nd place winners received a $150 check along with an engraved key ring that features the state seal. Winners for the small bus division were 1st place, Brenda Guilliams of Richardson County Transit and 2nd place, Ardis Niederklein of Saline County Area Transit. The van division winners include 1st place, Sharon Brown of Hitch and Hay Public Transit and 2nd place, Michael Frederick of Richardson County Transit. The mini-van division winners include 1st place, Fred Krenk of Wayne Public Transit and 2nd place, Jim Eggerling of Norfolk Public Transportation. The driver of the year award went to Sharon Brown who had the highest score of 860 out of a possible 1000 points. Sharon received a $50 Visa gift card as her prize and also took home the traveling trophy for winning the van division. Brenda Guilliams took home the traveling trophy for the small bus division and Fred Krenk took home the trophy for the mini-van division.

For the third year, the Roadeo Committee decided to honor a driver who exemplified good sportsmanship during the event. The committee also based this award on participation in this year’s Hawaiian theme. Brenda Guilliams took home this award, which consisted of a colorful beach bag cooler and a tropical houseplant.

On Tuesday, over 60 drivers and managers attended a free drivers training held at the Holiday Inn Convention Center. Buffalo County Deputy Sheriff Wyatt Hoagland provided five hours of Defensive Driving Training to the attendees. Hoagland is a part-time ADT and Driver’s Education instructor for the Nebraska Safety Center in Kearney and did an excellent job of providing valuable information while keeping the audience involved. In the afternoon, Bud Fears from Q-Straint/Sure-Lok provided a hands-on wheelchair securement segment. Everyone who attended the training received a certificate from the Safety Center and a padfolio and bottle koosie which feature the NATP logo.